10 Rules For Startup Bloggers

Standard

Thought Catalog

shutterstock_153666212

If you’re like me, then you have a blog that you absolutely adore. For now it’s a hobby, but secretly, you hope it catches. You hope billions of people take your words as scripture, and you hope to leave a legacy in this cluttered cyberspace.

When I started my blog, Black Millennial Musings, I knew it would be successful. I felt that I finally got it right. And so far, so good. After only two months, I’ve reached 11,000 page views from 7,000 people. My WordPress followers are nearing 600, and I’m beginning partnerships with start-up media houses.

But the minor successes I’ve seen have less to do with prowess, and more to do with failure. I launched a blog in 2012, and though it had a modest following, it didn’t connect. It was sloppy and poorly executed. I deleted it after a year.

I published on other outlets…

View original post 714 more words

What do you think?

